Fast and Slow: a poem for parents

the-persistence-of-memory
The Persistence of Memory by Salvador Dali

Time goes by so slowly

But where did it go

I get stuck in the same minute

It never seems to pass

But I never seem to have enough

Time

The minutes

They crawl by

Weren’t you just crawling?

You are so big

But yesterday you were so small

Was it yesterday

Or was it last year

The days are long

But the years are short

I’ve heard that before

But I first now understand

The day drags on

How can it only be ten

Nighttime comes

How did it take so long

How old are you

No, that can’t be

Time goes by so fast

But not the time I’m in

That goes by so slow

Time

The days are longer than the years

Slow and fast

Fast and slow

How can time be both

And at the same time, both

But it is

 

Leave a comment